Interview: Sam McCoig Talks About “Seniors”

Featured Image via Sam McCoig

Sam McCoig, an acoustic singer/songwriter hailing from Virginia, recently released his first solo single, “Seniors”. Adore had the chance to speak to Sam about his new single and what’s to come for him in the future.

Sam McCoig

Image via Sam McCoig

Adore: What was the inspiration for your single “Seniors”?

Sam McCoig: I originally wrote this song, “Seniors”, for my previous (band) Sunbox. It was written about my senior year of high school. I wrote the song as my final year of high school was winding down. I started realizing that I wasn’t going to see a lot of the people and things around me probably ever again, so high school went from doing the same thing everyday to looking around and kind of appreciating everything one last time. The second verse refers to how I would hope that the band would stick together after high school no matter what. “To only hope, that we won’t break, what we have made.”

A: What was the recording process like?

SM: The recording process was interesting and honestly pretty easy. I did it in my own house all by myself with some simple recording equipment. I knew exactly how I wanted it to sound and turn out so I was the most practical engineer for the job. I always record best with my dog lying at my feet.

A: Who are your main musical inspirations?

SM: I love a lot of different musicians, but for my new style of genre Shawn Mendes and Ed Sheeran are probably my two biggest influences. I just recently discovered Charlie Puth and I love his voice a lot as well.

A: What do you have planned for the future?

SM: Lots of things! I’m hoping to get more involved at my college, VCU, and reach out to that demographic of listeners. There will be an EP that will follow my single but that will all be done in a studio professionally later on this spring. Lots of show dates will be coming soon as well as a southern tour this July! I’ve never gone south to play music so that will be quite interesting and hopefully a fun, new adventure.

Check out “Seniors” below!

 

Leave a comment