Album Review: “The Heights” by Knox Hamilton

Featured Image via Knox Hamilton

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love Knox Hamilton, so needless to say I was thrilled when they released their debut album, The Heights, on March 10th. It was a great feeling to finally be able to listen to the studio versions of the songs I’d heard live so many times.

But enough about me. Let’s talk about this stunning debut album from my favorite Arkansas boys. The Heights is comprised of thirteen tracks of indie rock goodness. Each song has its own unique feel. Some tracks are pure feel-good pop, such as their single “Washed Up Together,” while other songs have more of a grungy rock vibe, like “Back Porch.” While I do love every track on this album, I want to point out some of my personal favorite moments:

  • The lyrics in “Washed Up Together,” especially in the chorus
  • The intro to “Rightfully So” that will never fail to make me smile
  • The chorus in “Sight For Sore Eyes,” not to mention the killer guitar solo at the end 
  • The gritty guitar riffs in “Back Porch” (this track is so incredible live)
  • The “floaty” feeling of “Barely Missed You”
  • The tearjerker that is “The Heights”
  • Boots’ vocals. I seriously cannot stress enough how amazing the vocals on this album are. Light and angelic in “Barely Missed You,” deep and resonating in “Call Me Up,” soft and sweet in “The Heights.” Always perfect.

If you’re short on time and want to check out a few tracks before committing to the whole album (although you definitely should give it a listen start to finish), I suggest checking out “We Get Back,” “Washed Up Together,” “Rightfully So,” and “Sight For Sore Eyes.” You won’t regret it.

Check out The Heights below!

Leave a Reply

