EP Review: “Secondhand Love” by Jack Hopkinson

Featured Image via Jack Hopkinson

Sometimes in life, the best discoveries are the ones that are stumbled upon by accident. One such discovery for me is the music of Jack Hopkinson. If it hadn’t been for me loving the music of one of his friends, I wouldn’t have discovered him when I did. But thanks to that, I was treated to a very intimate performance (and I do mean very—a handful of people gathered in a barn) and I fell in love with his music.

On Friday, Jack released his new EP, Secondhand Love. On first listen, my mind drifted back to that performance. I remember some of these songs being played there, and the feeling of being captivated by them. Hearing the fully fleshed-out studio versions of these songs mesmerizes me all over again, from the bluesy first notes of “We’ve Still Got Tonight” to the flawless live rendition of “Déjà vu.” Just like the first time I heard his music, I’m entranced by Jack’s lyrics. The vast majority of “popular” music released today is full of nothing but trivial lyrics completely devoid of meaning. Jack’s lyrics are full of emotion and feeling. The music itself is alluring as well, combining elements of folk, blues and acoustic. The combination of the music and lyrics is nothing short of stunning.

Don’t just take my word for it, though. Give Secondhand Love a listen below.

Leave a Reply

