Gig Review: Dan Owen

Featured Image: Twitter

Upon walking through the doors at the Oporto and seeing the name ARC at the top of the set times list I was sure that I recognised the name from somewhere….had I seen her before?

Turns out that I was right. ARC‘s distinctive nasal vocals make her sets very memorable and I was loving “The Promise.”

It is a truth universally acknowledged that when asked to tell a joke you will forget every joke that you have ever heard. Now that I’m writing this however I can actually think of quite a few jokes that I could have told when ARC asked me to tell a joke whilst she tuned her guitar. Alas it was not to be.

“I’m in Love” with Scott Quinn and his beautiful, smooth voice. It’s difficult to pinpoint my favourite song from his set as I was head over heels with them all. From the unreleased “Run” whose deeply emotional lyrics pull at your heart-strings, to the new single “Lovers From Afar” which is set to be released in early May.

It’s my third time seeing Dan Owen perform after seeing him open for Rae Morris last year and I was a total goner. From the moment I first heard “Fall Like A Feather” I knew that I’d be going to see this guy again and again….well here I am I guess.

So the last time I saw Dan Owen at the games room at the Brudnell Social Club it was a very intimate and sweet gig with everyone sitting on the floor. Tonight, however was quite the opposite as the venue at the Oporto was really rather busy actually.

If indie-folk is your thing (and it’s definitely mine) then I would highly recommend that you check out Dan Owen. His deep, gravelly voice accompanied only by a guitar, stomp box and occasional appearance of a harmonica give Dan a rich, mature sound that is all-encompassing.

The raw and emotional “Made To Love You” which was written about a friend’s dysfunctional, abusive relationship was a highlight of the evening for me, highlighting that some of the best songs written come from hurtful experiences and true pain.

The highly anticipated “Little Red Rooster” closed the set with plenty of folky goodness and Dan Owen- the one man band.

One thought on “Gig Review: Dan Owen

Leave a Reply

