Gig Review: Only Shadows

Featured Image Via : Only Shadows

You may or may not have heard that Only Shadows will be joining Coasts on their UK tour in late April, a fact that I am very excited about after having admired their music from afar. So when I saw that Only Shadows were in Leeds (24th March) on their last date before the tour, it was just such a perfect opportunity to check them out.

The Lending Room, a venue in Leeds, situated just upstairs from The Library pub is a very chilled out place with a 200 capacity that feels intimate yet with ample room to dance (a fact that I definitely took advantage of). Did I mention that there are also fairy lights? – you’ve got to love a place that has fairy lights.

First to the stage were Leeds based Cartel Flux whose alt. rock sound has true Yorkshire grit. Cartel Flux has only been around since 2016 but with carefree tracks such as “Summer” was a great act to open the night.

Courtyards, indie rockers from Huddersfield were next to the stage and brought along a string of devoted fans (and there I was thinking that I was the only one crazy dancing). Courtyards have got all the right ingredients to make it as an indie rock group…without the squeaky amp.

Only Shadows took to the stage thanking us for sticking around to see them and believe me when I say that it was totally worth staying for. From the highs of “Too Late” to even more highs in “Fight Milk” this alt. rock quartet brings the high energy alternative sound with spicy pop notes.

Also joining Coasts and Only Shadows in April will be Only The Poets, (managed by Sam Jackson, former tour manager for Coasts) which makes me wonder, maybe Coasts should change their name…..Only Coasts has got a certain ring to it.

tumblr_p63u70ZlFm1r60siro1_540

Leave a comment